I Used the Microsoft HoloLens and I Can’t Stop Thinking About It

Microsoft’s HoloLens isn’t going to change the world… yet. The suite of software included on the sleek development kit is more a demonstration showcase than an entertainment revolution. But every now and then, HoloLens’ surprisingly augmented reality capabilities displayed flashes of brilliance that made me feel like I was touching the future.

HoloLens is fairly light, about a pound and a third, and completely self-contained with no tethering cables.. The headset fitted reasonably comfortably over my glasses. It feels rugged and solid, with good balance and build quality, though the facial design can be a little hard on the nose. The real-world field of view is broad, but augmented reality effects only appear within a fairly narrow space in the center of the display. I occasionally lost the edges of holographic objects in the borders of the display, but backing away or a slight repositioning of my body always recovered the image. Audio from the discrete speakers was very clear, and my view of the world through the front glass was only slightly darkened.

Continue reading…

Source: IGN PC Articles

Leave a comment